There are 96 conservation districts that serve the citizens of North Carolina.  The boundaries of these conservation districts coincide with county boundaries with the exception of the Albemarle Soil and Water Conservation District.  This district is made up of the five counties in the northeastern corner of the state to include Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, and Perquimans.  Local districts are guided by a five member board of district supervisors, three being elected (non-partisan) and three being appointed.  Local district boards meet throughout the year in open meetings.