Grayhouse Farms Recognized with Sustainability Award

Iredell Supervisor Jimmy Gray and his family were recognized for  sustainability practices on their dairy and farming operation. For more information, click here to see a video created by NC Farm Bureau.

New Hanover Supervisor William “Bill” Hart Awarded Pelican Award

New Hanover Supervisor Bill Hart was awarded the 2020 Pelican Award by the North Carolina Coastal Federation to Restore NC’s Coastal Waters for his decades of outstanding leadership. Mr. Hart has been a tireless advocate within Soil and Water Conservation for the Community Conservation Assistance Program (CCAP). Congratulations for this prestigious award!
For additional information on his award, visit this link: Bill Hart Award News Release

2020 District Supervisor Leadership Training

We are excited to offer 3, 2-day training sessions to assist future leaders in conservation. Through a grant acquired by the NC Foundation for Soil and Water Conservation from the NC Tobacco Trust Fund Commission, lodging and meals will be covered. This training will provide opportunities to evaluate your leadership styles, develop new skills and interact with a wide range of development tools. Applications are being accepted. To apply, please fill out the (Online Application) and submit by February 17, 2020. Selections will be made by the Past Presidents’ of our Association.

Dates: June 9-10 Postponed due to COVID-19, August 18-19 and October 6-7, 2020

Locations: State Farm Bureau Office, Raleigh, NC

2020 Annual Meeting

The 2020 Annual Meeting was held at the University Hilton in Charlotte on January 5-7. The meeting was great success and well attended. We welcomed many great speakers and presenters that provided training and updates to assist Districts. Foundation President Jimmy Gentry, Farm Bureau President Shawn Harding and Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler kicked off our General Session. Professional speaker, Jones Loflin, gave our honorable Milton Heath Lecture which focused on the importance and impacts of conservation education. Jeff Young, NCDA&CS Dvision of Soil and Water Conservation Technical Services Section Chief updated everyone on the status of Commission JAA and Falyn Owens discussed the issues with feral swine in our state.

We were also honored to recognized the below list of Soil and Water people for these awards:

Supervisor of the Year         Scott Sheffield            Moore SWCD

Technical Employee             Dean Parker                Gaston SWCD

District Educator                  Leanna Staton             Clay SWCD

District Administrator           Lisa Pope                    Orange SWCD

District                                  Nash SWCD

Distinguished Service           Mike Breedlove           Macon SWCD

Ken Parks                    NCDA&CS – DSWC

Secondary Teacher               Anne Marie Franklin    Cherokee County

Congratulations Dietrich Kilpatrick for being inducted into the 2019 SE NACD Hall of Fame!

Congratulations North Carolina for placing 2nd in NCF Envirothon!

The Davidson County team represented us well. Congratulations and thank you for participating.

Congratulations Rick McSwain!

The Association is proud that NC’s own Rick McSwain was awarded the National District Professional Award by the National Employees Association. Rick is pictured below with NC Association President Dietrich Kilpatrick, NACD Board Member Franklin Williams and NCDEA President Tim Riley.

Annual Meeting Photos

Thank you to Jackie McCauley for taking photos of our Annual meeting. These photos will be available at our Photobucket site. Click HERE to visit the site and view the photos.

 NCASWCD Welcomes 2nd VP

We are pleased to welcome Mr. Samuel Green, Jr. of the Vance SWCD as the new 2nd VP of our Association.

Congratulations to Our Raffle Winners!

Doug Parker – Henry Golden Boy

Brent Bogue – Browning A5 Hunter

Mike Willis – Ruger

Cayle Aldrige, new CCP!

Congratulations to Cayle Aldridge, District Director for the Swain SWCD, on becoming a Certified Conservation Planner!

Mamie Caison of Brunswick SWCD National Winner!

Mamie Caison was selected and recognized at the 2017 National Association of Conservation Districts as this years’ District Professional of the Year. Congratulations Mamie on an award well deserved! Mamie is pictured below with 2017 NCASWCD President Chris Hogan at the NACD meeting in Denver, CO.

Successful Hunt from Auction Winner!

Charles Hughes of the Lenoir SWCD was the silent auction winner for the 2016 Annual Meeting Currituck Sound Hunt and had a successful trip.


Please note the following deadlines for Education Programs and Awards applications

Poster/Essay/Speech: April 1

Farm Family: April 1 to the Area
May 1 to the Association

Hall of Fame: June 1

Supervisor, Employee, Special Recognition Awards: September 1

By Law and Rules of Procedures for Review

Please review the By Law and Rules of Procedures posted on the Annual Meeting information site. This will be voted on at the Annual Meeting. The link is:

2017 Annual Meeting

Reminder that the registration deadline for the 2017 Annual Meeting, to be held at the University Hilton in Charlotte, NC, is December 1. A late fee will be charged after that date. Click the link below for registration and other meeting information:

New Executive Director Selected

Bryan Evans, retired Pitt County Soil and Water Conservation District Director, has been selected as the new Executive Director for the NC Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts.


Area 3 Fall Meeting Recognized in The Chatham News/Record — 10/29/15