UNC School of Government Supervisor Training Agenda Now Available

SogIf you are planning to attend the UNC School of Government Basic Training for Soil and Water Supervisors, February 9-10, 2016, an updated agenda is now posted on the website. Click the links below for more information.


Registration Information 

Posted in News | Leave a comment

NCASWCD President encourages members to ‘Catch the Vision’

A Message from the 2016 NCASWCD President…

Ben Knox H&S outdoorI don’t know about you, but I am charged up with enthusiasm as our association went through some exciting new changes and a lot of business items last year to help keep us progressing into the future of conservation. I want to thank everyone who participated in meetings and brought input to the table. It takes all of us to have a successful organization and your participation is appreciated.

The theme I would like for us to focus on this year during my presidency is “Catch the Vision!” North Carolina is a national leader in soil and water conservation, and we should never get complacent over this status. We should always be looking at ways do things better. This will be increasingly important as our state’s population continues to grow.

We have gotten to where we are as a leader because our founding soil and water conservationists had “vision” to go above and beyond what had never been done before.  This year we’ll be looking at opportunities on how we can organize new district training programs to continue strengthening our supervisors’ leadership capacities.  Additionally, I look forward to working with our new executive director to implement new marketing tools to help us better communicate who we are as an association and our vision for the future. It is time to stop being the “best kept secret” and let others know that our conservation work is vitally important to their livelihood.

I would like to challenge you about your vision in soil and water conservation. Ask yourself these questions: What do you want for your district? How can I become a better leader, district supervisor or employee? What can I do to provide ideas that will make a positive difference in conservation improvement? How can I help our association tell the amazing story about conservation?

A big thank you goes out to those of you that have stepped up to take on a leadership role. You don’t have to be on the executive committee to be considered a leader in our organization. We have a lot of great things going on where we need leaders and contributors to help us take our organization to the next level and run smoothly. We encourage strong participation at all levels.

If I can be of assistance to you this year, please contact me. I look forward to working with all of you this year as we “Catch the Vision!”

Posted in News | Leave a comment

NC Conservation Groups Sign Memorandum of Agreement

moa3 Last year at the National Association of Conservation Districts Annual Meeting in New Orleans, a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was signed by the National Conservation Partnership, which included several national conservation agencies. Following the signing, state-level associations were encouraged to follow suit. At the recent 2016 NCASWCD Annual Meeting, leadership from our core conservation partnerships came together to sign a MOA for North Carolina, which will encourage strong partnerships that will help lead us to increased productivity and advancement of our state’s natural resources.

Although our state association is involved with numerous organizations that work with conservation initiatives at varying levels, the core agencies represented at the signing have a strong goal to establish conservation efforts together that address local, state, and national natural resource priorities at the highest levels.

In November of last year, leadership from each of the core North Carolina conservation agency partners collaborated to help finalize the partnership agreement.

The following agency partner representatives signed the official MOA at the annual meeting:

Manly West, President, North Carolina Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts

John Langdon, Chairman, North Carolina Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Rick McSwain, President, North Carolina Conservation District Employees Association

Jimmy Gentry, President, North Carolina Foundation for Soil and Water Conservation

Robert Watts, President, North Carolina Resource Conservation and Development Association

Pat Harris, Director, North Carolina Division of Soil and Water Conservation

Timothy Beard, State Conservationist, Natural Resources Conservation Service

We look forward to continuing this strong conservation partnership into the future.

Posted in News | Leave a comment

2016 Raffle Winners Announced

Congratulations to the following raffle winners who won terrific prizes — including a John Deere Gator —  at the 2016 NCASWCD Annual Meeting banquet held at the Sheraton Imperial in Durham, NC, Jan. 3-5.

1st Prize – John Deere Gator: John Vining, Polk County

2nd Prize – Holland Grill: Sandra Reid, Polk County

3rd Prize – $500: A.W. Stapler, Camden County

4th Prize – $250: Alton Brady, Halifax County

5th Prize – $100: Debby Eckert, Haywood County

Thank you to all of those individuals who purchased raffle tickets and to the sponsors who made this raffle possible. Proceeds will benefit soil and water conservation initiatives and education.

Posted in News | Leave a comment